Provamel products

  1. Where can I find Provamel?

    Provamel products are available exclusively through Independent Health Food Stores and Holland & Barrett. Why not visit our handy shop locator to find your nearest stockist.  

  2. Is Provamel suitable for vegetarians and vegans?

    Yes. All products in the Provamel range are suitable for vegetarians and vegans, and approved by the Vegan Society as being free from animal ingredients.

  3. Can Provamel be used in cooking?

    Yes. Provamel alternatives to milk and cream can be used in the same way as traditional dairy products – there are many books available with recipes that use no dairy to help you. And why not try simply replacing any dairy products in your everyday recipes with Provamel? For some great ideas check out our recipe section.

  4. Is Provamel suitable for children?

    Suitability of soya milk alternatives for children

    • From 6 months. If tolerated, calcium enriched soya alternatives to milk such as Provamel drink plus calcium can be introduced as a meal ingredient during weaning , but not as a main milk drink due to the soya drinks lower fat and energy content. Some babies and children with a cow’s milk protein allergy may also react to soya protein – so always check with your health professional.
    • From 2 years of age:  Calcium enriched soya milk alternatives can be used as a main milk drink and in food preparation – unless advised otherwise by a health professional. Other plant based milks – almond, hazelnut, rice and oat milk alternatives –have a lower protein content and not all of them will be fortified with calcium. It is advisable to discuss with a health care professional before you try them.

  5. Why does some Provamel packaging mention ‘may contain traces of almonds and hazelnuts’

    We are planning to start producing almond and hazelnut products at our sites in Wevelgem, Belgium, and Kettering, UK, by the end of 2014. Although this change in production will only be implemented during 2014, Provamel has already started to adapt its packaging. This is to make sure that all packaging will be changed in time and that all consumers can be aware of the change to production before it is implemented. 


    As always, we are keen to safeguard the highest safety and quality of our products, and in the context of allergies, all possible measures will be implemented to avoid any cross-contamination between nut and soya products. Specifically, and based on gathering internal and external production expertise, this include maintaining separate flows for handling raw materials and manufacturing as well as thorough cleaning procedures. 

    Although there is no legal requirement to mention potential cross contamination on labels when all good manufacturing practices are taken to avoid it, we decided to explicitly inform consumers about the integration of nut product manufacturing at Provamel production sites. 

    Provamel will therefore clearly label its soya products (soya drinks, soya desserts, soya alternatives to yoghurt and cream), rice products and oat products with ‘may contain traces of almonds and hazelnuts’. 

    Some Provamel products (not sold in the UK) such as soya variations on meat and Provamel margarines do not have this labelling because they are produced at a separate site. 

  6. Why does some Provamel packaging mention ‘may contain traces of almonds and hazelnuts’ and others don’t?

    At the moment we are producing hazelnut and almond drinks at separate locations from our soya products. However, we are planning to start producing almond and hazelnut products at our sites in Wevelgem, Belgium, and Kettering, UK, by the end of 2014. Although this change in production will only be implemented during 2014, Provamel has already started to adapt its packaging. This is to make sure that all packaging will be changed in time and that all consumers can be aware of the change to production before it is implemented.